Creekside Forest Elementary

Skip to main content
District Home
Gretchen Hock » CFES Bluebonnet Program

CFES Bluebonnet Program

The Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) was established in 1979 to motivate students in grades 3 through 6 to read outstanding NEW children’s literature. A committee of teachers and librarian choose the 20 books to be included on the Bluebonnet list each year. Students all across Texas who read five or more books on the list have the privilege of voting for their favorite book. This program is unique in that students choose the winning book, NOT adults.

Guidelines for CFES Bluebonnet program for grades 3-6

·         Students who read (or have read to them) five (5) or more Bluebonnet books will be able to vote for their favorite the last week of January 13, 2017. They will also earn a bluebonnet spirit stick. Students who read 10 books may pick out a prize from the Library Treasure chest. Students who read at least 15 Bluebonnet books earn a Master Reader Card. This card lets you check out 4 books in the library until the end of the year!  The student will also be invited to the End of the Year Bluebonnet Pizza Party. 

·         Only one (1) Bluebonnet may be checked out per student at a time. Bluebonnets may not be renewed.

·         Teachers may check out one (1) Bluebonnet per week to read to the entire class. All students in the class may count this as a book read.

·         After reading a book, students must take and earn at least 60% on an AR quiz, and record it in the reading log kept in the library.    Click here to view the Texas Bluebonnet Award List